Major publisher accepting picture book submissions


Koala Books, an imprint of Scholastic Australia, has announced a rare and exciting opportunity for picture book authors and illustrators – the Picture Book Festival of Potential. From 10–28 February 2014 Koala Books will be accepting new picture book manuscripts and will also consider illustrators’ portfolios for work on future books. If you’ve been working on a manuscript for kids or you have a completed manuscript, read all the details below.

Early bird winners in our “That Summer Feeling” Competition – there’s still time to enter for the grand prize!

Summer Feeling

If there’s one thing we love at the Australian Writers’ Centre, it is helping people start on their writing journeys. This week we congratulated the five early bird winners of our ‘That Summer Feeling’ competition with a brand new copy of Reinvent Yourself (valued at $97 each), our summer survival kit.

You can check out the winning entries here. The competition runs until Monday 6 January 2014 and is the perfect way for new writers to become part of our community.

Two prestigious writing awards open for entries

Writing Competitions

Two prestigious Australian writing prizes are now open for entries. These are writing awards with a difference – one is for essay writing and one for excellence in business writing. Here are the details.

Ashurst Business Literature Prize
The Ashurst Business Literature Prize (formerly the Blake Dawson Business Literature Prize) is Australia’s most important award for business writing. This annual prize was established to encourage outstanding commentary on business and finance, and to help foster a better informed and engaged public.

50,000 words. 30 days. 1 manuscript. You can do it!


This Friday, thousands of people from all over the world will be embarking on the writing odyssey known as NaNoWriMo.

If you’re not familiar with NaNoWriMo (or NaNo as it’s often called), it’s short for National Novel Writing Month. The aim is to complete 50,000 words of a novel’s manuscript from 1 to 30 November. That averages out to 1667 words a day.

The Age short story award 2013


Would you like to see your short story published in one of Australia’s most popular newspapers and win $2000? Of course you would, and that’s why you should enter The Age short story award 2013.

Supported by Readings bookstore, entries are now open. Here are the competition details:

The winning entrant will receive $2000 plus publication. Second and third-placed writers will win $1000 and $500 respectively and their stories will also be published in The Age.

Human Rights Literature Awards 2013


Here’s something a little different for writers of non-fiction. The Australian Human Rights Commission is seeking nominations from non-fiction writers for the 2013 Literature Award.

The 2013 Literature Award recognises a non-fiction work (including social history, social commentary, biography or documentary) published in Australia. There is also a Print and Online Media Award for work published on human rights in Australian magazines, newspapers and websites.

Read more …

The Shortest Short Story Competition This Side of Australia

The Shortest Short Story Competition

We launched The Shortest Short Story Competition This Side of Australia on Monday 1 July 2013. This unique competition calls for short stories comprising 49 words or fewer. (That’s not a typo).

The key to winning is, obviously, brevity. We’ve decided to celebrate stories that are short and sweet. It takes a lot of skill to write compelling story in 49 words.

Read more …

Michelle de Kretser takes out the 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2013 FEATURE


Congratulations to Michelle de Kretser who has been announced as the winner of the 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel  Questions of Travel.

Here is the press release that accompanied the announcement at the National Library in Canberra a little earlier today:

“The Miles Franklin Literary Award, recognised as Australia’s most prestigious literary prize, was established in 1954 through the Will of My Brilliant Career author, Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin, to encourage and support writers of Australian literature.

Read more …

Shortlists announced for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2013

Prime Minster's Literary Awards 2013 FEATURE


The 2013 shortlists for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards, now in its sixth year, were announced yesterday by Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Minster for the Arts, Tony Burke.

Covering the best in Australian fiction, poetry, non-fiction, history, young adult and children’s fiction published in 2012, each category comes with a tax free cash prize of $80,000, with each author on the shortlist receiving $5000.

Read more …

Get your entries ready for the Finch Memoir Prize 2014

Finch Memoir Prize 2014 FEATURE

The Finch Memoir Prize 2014, which is open to anyone with an unpublished life story or memoir manuscript of between 40,000 and 80,000 words, will be accepting entries from 1 July – 20 August 2013.

It’s open to any published or unpublished writers and agented writers and comes with a cash prize of $10,000 and publication by Finch, “Publishers of books that change lives”.

Read more …